Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 9, 2012, 10:25 PM   #1

Default Travel Zoom Selection

Hi - I am looking to purchase a new digital camera with a good zoom capability. I am looking at the 20x zooms and looking for recomendations. One of the most frequent times I will be using it is at my daughter's swim meets. I want to be able to get candid shots of her on the deck or in the water from the stands, often indoors and beyond flash range. Suggestions? I have not seen much discussion of Fuji 770EXR, but it seemed to get a good writeup here. Also looking at most of the others in this group.

I am no expert, so if you think I am looking for the wrong class of camera, please let me know and make suggestions. Thanks
sackbut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 9, 2012, 10:54 PM   #2

The Panasonic FZ150 which I own is a very good camera with excellent IQ and a good RAW mode .

Its also very lightweight !!
Here are some example shots taken by me in RAW ! :

http://500px.com/photo/13495101
http://500px.com/photo/13268143
http://500px.com/photo/10917027
wrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2012, 5:35 AM   #3

If being pocketable is a must,then the usual suspects are Panasonic's TS25 or 30,Sony's HX10/20/30v and Canons SX240/260HS.
If size is not so significant then the Panasonic FZ-150 is worth considering,with fast autofocus speeds and burst modes,long zoom and decent lower light capability.
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:25 PM   #4

I recognize the typical favorites from Panasonic, Canon and Sony. I have not seen as much discussion on the Fuji 770EXR or Olympus 30/31MR, even though their reviews are pretty good. It looks like 30MR is also available at a pretty attractive price. Anyone out there with comments (pro/con) on the Fuji or Olympus offerings?
Old Sep 11, 2012, 2:00 PM   #5