Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 10, 2012, 11:06 AM   #1

Default point n shoot camera options for a dentist

Hi - I'm new to this forum so I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the appropriate area but let's see what turns up.

I'm a dentist and need to take very clear shots of people's teeth relatively close up and using a flash.

Name:  Invisalign BnA_Page1.jpg
Views: 3400
Size:  113.4 KB

Here is a sample of what my photos generally look like. I am looking for a new point and shoot camera that can focus quickly and clearly and give me a nice sharp photo. The camera I currently use is old and the camera I bought to replace it has a lot of focusing issues. I thought something with a relatively wide aperture would be good in order to be fast and relatively low light - but not sure how much that matters when using a flash anyway.

Please help if you have suggestions. Looking for something not over $500.

Thanks
drpeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 10, 2012, 11:21 AM   #2

Hmm drpeterson. You and my dentist share the same name. You don't happen to practice in NW Ohio do you?

Canon's PowerShot G12 is a possible candidate, which offers good macro focus distance and a decent built-in flash. It also has a fast f/2.8 lens at wide angle, along with a larger 1/1.7" image sensor. Since it's a bit older now (2010), you can find them for about $450 or less.

I'll let others chime in with some suggestions. Welcome to the forums, we hope you enjoy your time here.

p.s. Here's a link to Steve's PowerShot G12 review: http://www.steves-digicams.com/camer...12-review.html
billy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2012, 11:44 AM   #3

Yes, the G12 would be a good call... not least because the lens isn't super wide (28mm),thus getting you closer by default- plus you can adjust the flash output to suit your taste.