Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 10, 2012, 11:53 AM   #1

Default PowerShot A720 Close Replacement

Hello,

I am not satisfied with the quality my new camera (Elph). I used a PowerShot A720 IS for over 3 years and absolutely loved it but now it eats batteries so I decided to get a new camera (the Elph). What camera do you have now that is most like my PowerShot A720? I like the size of the Elph but I don't want to sacrifice picture quality. I am looking for a camera that is great outdoors for landscape and macro shots since I am a field biologist.

Thanks!
blushinglily is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 10, 2012, 12:18 PM   #2

The A720 was (and still is...) a great little camera.
Have you considered high quality and high capacity rechargeables..??
Of course,the 35mm wide lens isn't exactly conducive for "wide" landscapes- but very good for macro work- especially coupled with its 1cm close focusing distance.

Canon's G12 has all the manual control one could want- a "reasonably" wide 28mm lens and a 1cm close focusing distance like your powershot.
I would also suggest the Canon S100,which has great IQ and a fast,wide 24mm lens suited to landscapes and the f/2.0 aperture assisting any low light/indoor work- though the close focus distance of 3cm allied to a 24mm lens is not the best for macro work- though not bad..!!
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 6:06 PM   #3

Thank you very much!

I suppose macro is more important to me than landscapes though both would be ideal. The G12 you mentioned sounds great but is too big to carry with me in the field. When I know I will need to take professional shots I can bring my SLR. So here is my priority list (#1 being the most important):

1. No larger than my A720
2. Great macro shots
3. Great landscape shots
4. I like to select my own "scenarios" rather than the camera choose one for me.