Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 23, 2012, 11:04 PM   #1

Default Please help me to buy a digital camera

Friends,

I need a digital camera as my daughter broke our old Sony DSC-W5. I was quite satisfied with my W5 IQ (outdoor) but there were major drawbacks too.

Pros
--------
1. Good outdoor IQ
2. Large sensor
3. Compact

Cons
--------
1. No IS
2. Very less optical zoom
3. Very poor low light performance
4. No FHD movie

But considering the price tag, it was OK kind of camera. Enough history now back to business :-)

Now, I need another digital camera, but I'm really confused what should I buy now.

1. Point-n-Shoot or DSLR ?
I'm not a professional photographer, but certainly enthusiastic photographer. I like to click outdoor pics, macro pics. Apart from this, the camera will be used by my family to click/record various family events. So I'm more interested for Point-n-Shoot camera which can be used by all in my family, which will be lighter, easy to use and there is no need to carry extra lenses. But if DSLR can meet my requirements I'm open for it too.

2. How much zoom ?
Zoom is a major factor after IQ. I need more optical zoom (at least 20x) :-)

3. OIS (Optical Image Stabilization) is a must, I have suffered a lot with my W5

4. Should be large sensor size, because of more image details/quality

5. Capable of shooting FHD high quality movies because I'll not buy another camcorder.

6. Good performance in low light conditions

7. Image size (MP) does not matter at all, even 5 MP is enough for me.

8. Above all, the new camera should have better IQ than my W5

9. Max budget $500 USD

And request you to suggest THE BEST camera which can meet my above requirements within my price tag.

Thank you.

Last edited by CrazyTechie; Oct 23, 2012 at 11:26 PM.
CrazyTechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 24, 2012, 4:53 AM   #2