Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 3, 2012, 5:08 PM   #1

Default Stressing Out, can't find the right Camera for me, please help!

Ok, I feel like I am taking crazy pills. Am I the only person on Earth who wants a camera that takes very nice quality at a semi close range? I mean, I am an audio journalist and I just cannot find a camera that is humanely priced that isn't packaged with features I just will never use.

I take pictures of electronics, so low light and the highest quality anti blur pictures are required, I also would like it to record some high quality videos in 720 or 1080. 720 is fine, so long as it looks great. It seems like the DSLRs today are all geared to take photos at 26x-40x zoom, have some type of fancy LCD screen that flips out and makes you toast if you want, I dont need any of that. I dont need all the filters, switches, knobs and especially do not need any zoom beyond 5x.

I was looking at the Nikon L810 due to it being so cheap and nicely rated. but even it has features I am not ever going to use. I dont want to pay more than $400, but I am really stressed and do not know what to get. Size doesn't matter to me, I prefer a medium sized one anyway and want to get away from compact cams. Any help is appreciated!
Portal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 3, 2012, 8:00 PM   #2

Whatever camera you buy will have several options you will not use...that is a given. You may never use them, true, but they are made with them...not individually. If you were able to have a camera ordered to your specs it would cost way more than 500 for it.
You need to concentrate on what you do need, and which cameras have those features...forget the rest of the options. Concentrate on What You are Looking For...size, low light, photo quality, zoom, macro, etc.