Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 7, 2012, 9:32 PM   #1

Default Newbie - Canon 20D vs newer and simpler for $300?

I'm new to dSLRs. I have someone locally with 20D with 28-80 lens selling for $300. Should I go with an older but very good camera or look for a newer but more basic model?

My experience is mainly with cheap ($100) P&S camera with terrible low light performance, slow autofocus and lots of shutter lag. We have little kids that don't hold still for long. I like to take natural indoor light photos without flash.

I want to try a dSLR hoping to get better performance in both catagories. And I think it would be fun to learn. But should I go with something newer - figuring cameras and image sensors have gotten better over the last 4 -7 years.

I'd rather buy local just so I can touch it and try it for a few minutes before buying rather then picking something based on reviews and ordering from ebay, etc.
dave_michigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2012, 3:30 AM   #2

Hi and welcome lets me say the 20d was a very good camera but it is still and 8 year old design and things have moved on, do you know how much this camera has been used.
if you are not used to DSLR's then maybe one that has a guided mode. you say no flash but used properly it will produce great shots for you. have look at the second hand market and compare prices
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 7:00 AM   #3

HI,
The 20D, was, and still is a good camera. But, at $300, it isn't necessarily a great deal. Unless, you personally know the seller and know how it has been used, the number of shutter releases, condition of the lens, etc. you may be buying a problem.
I know that you've expressed a desire to touch and actually hold the camera prior to buying it, but without a warranty, that doesn't buy you peace of mind.