Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:59 PM   #1

Default Please Suggest Me!

Hi All
i'm new here!

i want to buy a SLR camera, which is my first SLR
many friends and online reviews said that . nikon d5100 is good and cheap compairing with others!
I have 2 option here
can you tell which one is better

NIKON D5100 WITH 18-55MM VR LENS KIT+

Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG MACRO

Nikon D3200 with 18-55 Lens & 50 1.8 D Lens (21.1 Megapixels, SLR Camera, Black)

this is the options some one tell me which is better

I'm not a professional photographer! in jan 2013 I'm going vacation back to India
azharhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2012, 6:07 AM   #2

The Sigma 70-300 isn't very good. I'd skip that one.

The Nikon 50/1.8 isn't great either.

Are these packages that a local retailer has put together for you or are they packages you've put together based on your budget?
TCav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 6:41 AM   #3

I would get the d5100 without the sigma 70-300, I would get the 50 1.8 instead. If your budget allows I would go with the tamron 70-300 VC USD it is a much better lens for a telephoto.
Old Nov 26, 2012, 7:14 AM   #4

Both cameras are nice and small which IMHO is nice for vacation / travel.

The Nikon D3200 has an optional WiFi dongle that plugs in to let you transfer pictures to a smart phone so that you can upload pictures to the NET pretty much anywhere you have data access with your phone, which might be nice if you want to do that in your travels without necessarily needing a computer. Nikon D3200 also has more megapixels.