Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 26, 2012, 6:33 PM   #1

Default Young family camera: Canon t3i or???

Hi. We are a young family (Plus two twins on the way in February. ) I am trying to re-learn the basics of photography, and we have decided to invest in a good, quality dslr camera w an flexible or "all-purpose" lens. (Preferably Canon brand with quality IS.)

Others from the extended family use Canon t2i and I believe t3. They are amateur photographers and get lots of nice shots with a 18-200mm Canon lens.

We have thought about looking at a Canon t3i package w a 18-200 lens. Although expensive, this will probably cost around 950-1000 bucks, right? Thoughts? What about other alternatives, such as the Samsung NX20? Or would that be still considered not a true dslr? I am still quite new to the scene past high level point and shoots with extended zoom, but am a quick learner... We just want something that will last and help us to record memories without waiting a few seconds late for the kids to pose, or the constant blur of people in motion....and hopefully avoid blackouts from bad lighting, which is typical from cheaper p n s cameras.... Any help and suggestions would be much appreciated.
norjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2012, 7:02 PM   #2

Unfortunately, the kind of lens you seem to have in mind for a dSLR, will impose the same restrictions on you that a P&S camera would. Lenses like the 18-200 you mentioned are referred to, collectively, as superzoom lenses because of their significant zoom ratio. They are jack-of-all-trades-and-masters-of-none lenses. They seem to try to do lots of things and end up not doing any of them particularly well. Multiple lenses of less ambitious zoom ranges will provide better image quality and save you some money to boot. You'll just have to change lenses occasionally.