Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 21, 2013, 1:29 PM   #1

Default Canon EOS 600D/650D (as an example) vs Casio EXFH 100 (A Digital Camera)

Okay,

I'm thinking of getting an SLR. At the moment I own a Casio EX FH100. I've been recommend several cameras such as a Canon EOS 600D.

This might seem like a ridiculous question but

1) how do I know my pictures will actually look better on the Canon EOS 600D. Total noob to photography clearly

2) Also what will buying an addition lens do for my photos

3) How long does it take to learn how to use these cameras in order to maximise its capabilities

I will be buying the camera for a trip to the Caribbean next year.

I would really appreciate your help
Tippa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2013, 1:39 PM   #2

There are a couple things you'll notice right away:
1) Start-up time will be quicker
2) shutter-lag: the time from when you press the shutter button until the time the photo is taken will be shorter in-general
3) pictures at higher ISO will appear less grainy

On the negative side you'll notice that the amount of subjects in a given photo that are in-focus will be less. If you take the same photo, framed the same way with your old camera and the 650d you'll see that more of the 650d photo is out-of-focus. what should be in-focus is what the focus point(s) were on but things in the background will be less in-focus. This is desirable to many people but not all.

4) if you use the "sports" mode on the new camera it will do a dramatically better job than your current camera - at least within the limits of your lens and distance to subject. By that I mean you can't expect to use a 55mm lens and track a kid playing soccer 40 yards away and expect great shots.