Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 2, 2013, 10:49 AM   #1

Default What would you do in my situation? Return my Nikon D800?

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here in the forums but from all the good things I have heard about this place I believe it could be the start of something great! So, allow me to tell you a little bit about myself and my situation and I'm sure someone will be able to easily help me out!

I work as a freelancer, shooting with the Nikon D800 to do things like music videos and other web based videos.

(If you want to skip my lame excuses for why I have a Nikon D800 and I am thinking about returning it skip this paragraph!)
I was put into a real grind when my partner suddenly moved out of state without telling me. He left me with a bunch of work to do and I was put into a state of extreme turmoil to say the least. I ended up sacrificing a lot of sleep to keep some of the clients he had left me stranded with. Along with all this though... I needed a camera very quickly as I had a client who needed filming; what did I do? Went out and bought the Nikon D800, because it was the same camera I was using with my previous partner.

After a couple responses for my "Need Video Partner" in craigslist and talking to them about what I want to be doing, I had two people tell me that the Nikon D800 was not the camera for me and that in my situation I should have a totally different setup. "You want to make music videos not Bill Board advertisements on the side of the highway... The Nikon D800 isn't the camera for you!" -Random guy I met off craigslist who seemed fairly knowledgeable with cameras

I bought the camera from Best Buy on the 21st of February and they have a 30 day return policy giving me until March 23. I ended up not even using the camera for the client I bought it for and now have about 30 - 50 shots on it all taken around my house just playing around with it so I'm sure I can return it.