Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 22, 2013, 10:10 PM   #1

Default Went from FZ35 to Samsung NX1000 + 30mm pancake

I am still somewhat new to photography. I love my FZ35, easy to use and the versatility and range are just awesome. Image quality seems good to me, though low-light was something I found it to be lacking in, however FZ35's flash is pretty powerful. It was a great starter camera. I decided to graduate to interchangeable lens camera

The NX1000 is much harder to use for me, granted I've only had it 2 days. I just got my 30mm pancake. Thinking of also getting a 50-200mm if I can get one around the 150-200$ mark. The reason I went mirrorless instead of DSLR was portability, I figure I'd use the camera more if it was portable (also a reason why I opted for a 30mm pancake to somewhat replace the 20-50mm).

I got it in a bundle with the tablet, but after what the tablet is worth to me, you can say I got the standard NX1000 kit for 220~250$ tax in. I then bought the 30mm pancake for like ~ 280$ tax in, so 500$ invested so far.

It kind of seems like a lot, especially since my FZ35 cost me half that in 2010. Was this a good buy? Should I go for the 50-200mm or just use my FZ when I know I'll be needing that kind of zoom? I am still eligible to a full refund so if it wasn't such a good buy I can always return it
n-ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2013, 11:06 PM   #2

What's done is done.Now enjoy your photography.
wanaclick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2013, 1:12 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanaclick View Post
What's done is done.Now enjoy your photography.
Yes but it can be undone if it's not a good option. I'm happy with the limited time I've had with my NX1000 but I was also amazed by soso point and shoot digital cameras before I discovered the FZ35, so I don't trust my first instincts about these things yet

Last edited by n-ster; Jul 23, 2013 at 6:28 AM.