Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 8, 2013, 6:26 AM   #1

Default Looking for a portable mirrorless (upgrading from compact)

Hi folks,

I need a bit of advice since I'm only a beginner. I travel a lot and love taking photos, but I was never interested in DSLR's due to their bulky size and weight.

The mirrorless cameras however peaked my interest and I've now sold my old Canon S95 and I'm considering what to upgrade to.

My main requirements are:
1) Portability - doesn't neccessarily need to be pocketable, but it would be nice if I could hang the camera off my belt, or stuff it in my jacket
2) One-handed use - when hiking or climbing mountains, I don't want to get out of my gear just to operate the camera
3) Decent photos in auto mode - my wife needs to be able to use the camera, and she has no patience or inclination to fiddle with the settings

Nice to haves: WiFi, NFC, smartphone app for remote control, GPS tagging etc.

Since this will be my first "serious" camera I think (and I might be wrong) that the main choice is the brand, which will dictate what type of lens I will buy later, which will dictate what kind of camera I may end up upgrading to later on.

So far I've only had Canon cameras, but from what I hear their mirrorless range is less than impressive and EOS M compares quite poorly to the competiton. Apart from Canon, I like the look of the Sony NEX cameras, but from the reviews I gather that they have a poor user interface.

I could wait for EOS M-2 to come to Europe, or it may be time for me try another make.

Does anyone have a recommendation for me? Let's say that I don't want to spend more than $1000 (or 1000 euros) on the kit (camera + lens), and if all else fails I'll be going for the Sony RX100-II

Thanks!
crotach is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 8, 2013, 12:19 PM   #2