Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 8, 2013, 10:47 AM   #1

Default Recommendations for a bridge camera?

I'm expecting a baby and looking to buy a new camera. I am not a photography expert by any means, so the camera doesn't have to be super fancy. I love my point and shoot now, but am looking for something that can take more frames per second with less lag time between shots. It will mainly be used for taking pictures of active kiddos!

Of course I've fallen in love with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200 based on reviews and user comments, but I'm wondering if it's necessary to spend that much for my relatively basic needs?

My parents have the Canon SX50 and love that one, but I read there can be a lag time between shots.

Any recommendations?
Karey1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 8, 2013, 12:32 PM   #2

The FZ200 is a speedy performer for sure... though the Canon SX50 has a fast burst option- and if you switch off the image review, the shot to shot times are quicker...

Perhaps play with your parents Canon for a bit- you may find it's perfectly adequate for what you need once you get to grips with it...
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2013, 12:36 PM   #3

Have you ever thought of a dSLR?

Some of the older models, such as the Canon T3, can be gotten with lens for ~$300 or so.

Their larger sensor is great for image quality. They are really fast. And if you end up really liking it, there are ways to expand the system to get even better photographs.

And . . . if in the end you decide that you don't like it, you can still turn around and sell the camera used and not lose that much.

I know a couple of people that asked me about dSLRs, but weren't that sure, but went and picked up this camera to try it out.

Just something else to consider!

NOTE: I'm trying to capture the picture in my head! Not the one my camera sees!