Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 13, 2014, 9:34 PM   #1

Default What camera should I buy for my photography business?

I am an amateur photographer, but ready to take the next step. I have previously owned a Canon Rebel XTi, followed by a Nikon D3000, but I couldn't stand it, so I had to go back to Canon. I then purchased a Canon Rebel XSi.

I prefer Canon and am currently weighing my options with a budget of about $700 right now.

I am looking at the Canon 40D, a 50mm F1.8 (or 1.4 depending if I can find a good deal) and one other lens. That I am undecided on. I do primarily portrait photography, but also enjoy still life, street photography and landscapes.

[IMG]http://***********************/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/11/36/smile.gif[/IMG]
TinaisTina is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 14, 2014, 7:52 AM   #2

You say you want to start a photography business. Can you be more specific? Are you planning on just selling prints of your stills/street/landscape? Or are you planning on shooting portraits for pay? Both?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 8:04 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TinaisTina View Post
...am currently weighing my options with a budget of about $700 right now.

I am looking at the Canon 40D, a 50mm F1.8 (or 1.4 depending if I can find a good deal) and one other lens. That I am undecided on. I do primarily portrait photography, but also enjoy still life, street photography and landscapes.[IMG]http://***********************/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/11/36/smile.gif[/IMG]
I would hope that your budget will expand as you delve into areas of photography beyond portraiture.