Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 7, 2014, 2:30 AM   #1

Default camera with accurate color reproduction

I want to buy a non-dslr camera which can do accurate color reproduction. ..purple should look purple, maroon as maroon and not red, and so on....I am not a professional photographer with studio lighting, so it should work excellent in normal lighting at home

Can someone please help me here

Thanks
Chintu
chintuofkpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 7, 2014, 3:48 PM   #2

G'day mate

Every camera maker tells that their colour reproduction is 'accurate' - and every photographer can prove that somewhere - sometime - somehow this is not the case

To achieve a 'perfect 100%' colour reproduction is extremely difficult even for the most expensive of cameras ~ if I were to achieve what you're asking, I would want to create a controlled lighting setup [ie mini studio] so as to have 100% control over the lighting & shadows, and then via experimenting with a paint colour card or a collection of coloured objects, fine tune the camera's colour menu settings for the best result

It can be done with nearly all digi cameras - but it will take some time to get it 'right'
btw - when I say 'controlled lighting setup' I do not mean an expensive studio ~ it could be 2x good quality lights shining onto the kitchen table ... just something constant where you can recreate it again & again

Hope this helps a bit
Phil
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2014, 7:36 PM   #3

i suggest you check out the canon G15. my husband has one, and it's very good with color rendition. some of the ELPHs have good color, also.
pcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2014, 1:29 PM   #4

Any camera that allows the setting of custom white balance or can shoot raw files can work.
Provided you use a decent color target like the colorcherker passport for the first shot of each lighting condition sequence.