Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 25, 2015, 12:13 PM   #1

Default DSLR Suggestions: Nikon D5200 or other?

Good Day!

I'm a Film and Photography student and I've been looking around and doing some research on different cameras. A couple that I came up with were the Canon T5i and the Nikon D5200. Currently I'm looking at the Nikon D5200 since its said to be geared more towards photography, and my major I'm pursuing is Photography.

My question is have I come to a good decision on a camera or are there better cameras out there for photography in the $500 price range? Should I skip over the Nikon D5200 and go straight to the D5300? Or does Canon work better for pictures.

Another thing is that I would like it to also have decent video, which the Nikon was said to have but the Canon had better Video Tracking. I would prefer to keep the camera a DSLR. Not too keen on investing in an ILC or Point and Shoot.

In case these help as well;

Photography I look at doing: Night Photography, Portraits, Flower Photography, Landscape.

Film I look at doing: Sketch Comedies, Horror, Documentary.

Sorry to Load you full of information and questions but its much appreciated.
Thanks,
Pharlynx
Pharlynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 25, 2015, 2:54 PM   #2

First, Nikon uses Sony image sensors, which outperform the sensors that Canon makes for itself. (FYI, Pentax and Sony also use Sony sensors.)

Second, my preference is to look for the best, most affordable lenses for the intended subject, and just get the best, most affordable body for those lenses. So...
  • Night Photography - Large apertures (numerically low f-numbers.)
  • Portraits - Also large apertures, focal lengths from 57 mm (35mm equivalent focal length of 85 mm) to 90 mm (35mm equivalent of 135 mm.) (These are generally accepted as the best focal lengths for portraiture, as they provide a flattering perspective.)