Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 4, 2017, 2:38 PM   #1

Default Used Nikon D5300 to buy or not to buy?

HelLo!
I enjoy photography, all my spare time I shoot by my iphone. I work as a pro photo retoucher in Fix the Photo, but I wonna become a pro photographer.
I haven't had any digital camera yet, but want to buy used Nikon D5300 as my first.
What do you think of buying used technics?
Donnart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 4, 2017, 4:05 PM   #2

DSLRs contain a lot of mechanical and electromechanical parts that are subject to wear. It's impossible to tell how much use and abuse a dSLR has been subjected to, and how much wear it's already suffered.

New is great. Refurbished is also very good. (Many retailers offer factory refurbished dSLRs that come with factory warranties.) Used is ok if you can get a warranty. (Not a guarantee, a warranty. There's a difference.) KEH.com and other retailers of photo gear offer a generous return policy.

Unless you know and trust the person you're buying a used dSLR (without a warranty) from, I'd say skip it.

As to the difference between warranties and guarantees:
  • A guarantee only means you'll get your money back. dSLRs are used in conjunction with a variety of lenses and accessories. If you buy a used dSLR with a guarantee, then buy lenses and accessories for it, and it fails, you can get your money back for the dSLR but not for the other things you bought that may be useless without the original dSLR.
  • A warranty means that, if a dSLR fails, it will be fixed or replaced, so any investment you made in lenses and accessories will still be good.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2017, 3:02 AM   #3

Best digital camera.

At what price?

NASA uses Hasselblad cameras, but the price is beyond the average photographer's reach.

Just under $33,000.

Last edited by Peteraa1; Jul 30, 2017 at 7:31 AM.
Peteraa1 is offline   Reply With Quote