Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 22, 2004, 11:58 AM   #1

I need a lot of direction on the purchase of a new camera. Have a simple digital camera now, but need much more advanced unit

I am a custom home builder and pool and landscape contractor looking to purchase a camera to capture our work and then use it for promotional purposes (website, brocures etc.) As well as keep out of state/town clients up to speed on progress of projects.

My dilema is this. I am not afraid to spend some money on a great camera, but really want one that can acomplish all I need and not be so professional and complicated that we need to take a graduate photo course to use. I know that lense capability is very important. Zoom is not of great importance, but I will need to the abilty to get wide angle capability for interior shots, and also need to be able to take shots inside and outside of both still and moving (water features etc) shots. I do not want to have to make 10 changes to the camera in order to go from taking a picture of a bathroom and then walking outback to take a picture of the pool and landscape.

Is my best bet to go with a Canon digital rebel SLR interchagable lense camera and all of the hassle and price, or can I get away with something like the sony cybershot. and get most of what i need? And if I need the SLR, will I be into it 2-3K by the time i get all the lenses and accessories I need. I do not have any existing camera equipment or lenses. As well all of the technical mumbo jumbo is overwhelming. I want to be able to get great looking photos that look as professional as possible without hiring a professional photgrapher . If it was a one time gig I would, but we complete a number of projects each week and month, and like to have records and updates and want to able to keep our web sites up to date continously.

Someone who is in the know, Please advise.

Thanks in advance for your input.