Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 26, 2004, 4:02 PM   #1

I have an Agfa ePhoto1680 that just died and, because I have so much invested in Smart Media cards and a reader,I needanother cam that'll use these same cards.I knowI'm not going to get a great cam for that price, but I have to get a cheap one nowso I can still use all this expensive memory and reader I have, then buy a second betteronelater when I have the money. I'm a video editor and needto replace mydead digicam rightawayto finish the projects I'm working on. I'm a still camera novice so I'd greatly appreciate any suggestions foradecent cheapdigicam that uses Smart Media cards?

Thanks.
djohn1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2004, 4:12 PM   #2
Administrator

I hate to tell you this, but Smartmedia is pretty much obsolete. Manufacturers (like Olympus) that were using it, have switched to other memory formats (for example, Xd Picturecard).

To the best of my knowledge, the last camera manufactured that could even use it was the Olympus C-5050z (a model released at the end of 2002). However, it was put into the camera simply so users with Smartmedia could take advantage of their existing media,and also supportedother formats (CompactFlash and xD Picturecard). Models manufactured since then don't use it.

Other than the C-5050z (which you may still be able to find new), you'd probably have to go with anolder model camera in used or refurbished condition.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2004, 4:28 PM   #3