Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 3, 2004, 2:24 PM   #1

For my first trip to France and Italy next year, I've decided to buy my first digital camera. I'm a newbie to this so I'm not sure exactly how many mega pixels I'll need (probably about 3 for shots that are mostly5x7 inches) and I'm not particularlyleaning towardsgetting ultra-compact cameras like canon's elph series (only because I've heard they have a weak flash). Anything that's the size of an average 35mm camera would be good.

I don't really care about super fancy features or anything. Just enough to make some adjustments. The main reasons I want a digital camera is to preview a picture and delete (so LCD screen of at least 1'5), not use film (memory card size doesn't matter right now, I' can just buy one separatly)...etc. just the basic average reasons someone would switch to a digital.

Some features I specifically want include

- a start-up time of less thenabout...3.5 seconds and as low shutterlag as possible

- good low-light capabilites so I can get good detailed shots inside buildings (of the building and statues, etc)

- in addition to good low-light capabilities, I'd like a camera that produces crisp outdoor shots

- 3X zoom

- a camera that can use rechargable AA batteries. I'd prefer a camera that uses onlyAA 2 batteries, but 4 is ok if features are good (like..the canon powershot a75, one of the cameras I'm considering).

- compact flash card is preferable over a memory stick

- $500 less canadian if possible please

I hope that's not too much to ask for a camera and that there are a lot of possibilities, so please help!

(btw--> going back to the top...do I need 3 or 4 megapixel? I'm mostly printing the pics out not putting them up on the internet)

thanks

Sable

Sabrieyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2004, 3:31 PM   #2