Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 20, 2004, 10:24 PM   #1

I am very new to cameras, let alone digital cameras. I am a Software Developer by profession, and never got into taking pictures or anything. I know a little about computer graphics from doing web development, but nothing about photography. I have recently got the erge to get a digital camera. So I went to a couple of stores and was bombarded with confusion. All the features, settings, mega pixels, zooms, and all of which I know nothing about.

So I started to do some research on these things, read some reviews, and went back to the store to pick out a camera.

My first choice was the Sony Ciber Shot W1. It took good pictures, felt pretty sturdy, and had a 2.5 inch display. Within a week, the menu started displaying all by itself. Not all the time but it happened several times. So I took it back and exchanged it.

I got the Canon S1 IS. This camera was even better. It had a bigger zoom, and took good pictures as well. It was hard to focus in dim lighting, but it was a good camera. Well after about a week, I was taking some pics and it started to smell like electronics heating up, and shortly after the display started to flicker and get real bright then back to normal, and lines would apear and go away.

So back to the store I went and again exchanged the camera.

I got the Canon A85 this time. It took good pictures, but felt cheaply constructed, as well as having a little trouble focusing. It also had 2 bright spots at the bottom of the LCD. I don't know if it was a defect or just a cheap way to illuminate the LCD.