Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 28, 2004, 1:13 AM   #1

Hi,

I am keen on buying an ultra zoom digital camera (in fact my first digicam ). I will be using the camera for nature, people and macro photography.

I have narrowed down to the Panasonic FZ3, the Canon S1 IS, and the Minolta Z3. The advantage of the the minolta is 4 MP and that it goes upto 1cm for macros. The Panasonic has been reviewed to be the best of the lot (in the 3MP range at least). The Panasonic Z10 is also an option (being 4 MP), but its more expensive and a bit bulkier.What I like about the canon is the stitch assist facility, the cool design and the fact that the LCD can be safely tucked away. So I am unable to make up my mind

Also as I am new to digital photography, I dont know what features I will find useful down the line and what are the things to really look out for. So please advise me on the above 3, and of course suggestions outside the 3 are also really welcome.

Thanks a lot in advance!
Siddhartha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 29, 2004, 8:09 PM   #2

Partial to the Z-3 myself. I think you're overweighting megapixels, don't worry so much about the megapixels. This camera will produce stunning 8X10s. The Venus II engine enhances resolution well beyond the megapixel rating, and the difference between 3 and 4 megapixels is insignificant imho. The 12X optical zoom is great for nature photography, I wouldn't want one with less than that (10X). I always zoom to 12X, couldn't imaginge less. You won't be disappointed. It's a great outdoor camera, and the internal flash has been improved to 17 feet (don't quote me, though.)

They're all good choices, though. Good luck.
NickTrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2004, 1:06 AM   #3

Hi Nick,