Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 3, 2004, 12:40 AM   #1

Hey guys, this site is great and I recently i bought a book "Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers" and it inspired me to get a professional camera or somewhat professional. I was looking at all the Digital SLR prices and they are too high! I really liked the Canon Digital SLR Rebel for 800 dollars w/o lens but thats too much. Is there any entry-level SLR cameras that will allow me to take high quality pictures and learn the wonderful world of photography? I would buy a regular film camera but thats too expensive for me to experiment with, at least I can take as many pictures as I want with a digital camera.

I am really a graphic designer but have no photography experience except with a Point-n-Shoot camera but I'd love to learn which is why I'm on a hunt for a nice beginner camera that will allow me to learn but still have a decent camera. Any suggestions would be great! Thanks.
mnarciso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 3, 2004, 11:55 AM   #2

I can't exactly understand if you are finally askingfor an advice for buying a non-SLR digital camera for experimenting or a SLR film camera ?!

If you are talking about a SLR camera to begin with, I have two proposals for you:

1-Nikon N75 (F75)

2-Minolta Maxxum 5 (Dynax 5)

If you are talking about a budget digital camera to start I would recommend the Canon A95 (that's what I'm also going to get soon as my previous digital has died)

Regards,

Codrut
codz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2004, 12:26 PM   #3

Actually I was looking for a camera with a lot of manual options that provides good quality and will allow me to explore more then just a simple point and shoot camera. For example I was looking at the Canon S1 IS in the 400 dollar range. That is something I can afford.