Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 1, 2004, 9:30 AM   #1

Hello, I just bought a Sony P150...I am not an expert and wanted a good point and shoot. I was taking some Halloween shots and various other shots and had to dump about 15% of my pictures....there was red eye in a lot of them. My baby boy has really bright blue eyes and he looked like the devil in most of the pics!!! There was also a focusing problem for me. I tried to hold the camera still and it didn't focus as well as I had expected. I used the easy fully auto setting.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"I also think the pictures look pretty grainy in the backgrounds and don't really live up to the hype of the reviews. I was wondering what other camera to exchange this one for...maybe the Canon A95???

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Please help...my wife is very upset with this purchase!
sperk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 1, 2004, 10:12 AM   #2
Administrator

I hate to tell you this. But, virtually all small cameras will suffer from redeye in some conditions. Chances are, the A95 would be just as bad or worse. Here is someone complaining about the A75 (which by some reviewers accounts, is better at handling redeye compared to the newer A95):

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...amp;forum_id=2

As a general rule, the closer to the lens the flash is located, the worse the redeye. Even much larger models (i.e., Canon G5) can still suffer from redeye using the built in flash.

The best solution is a model that supports an external flash, located further away from the camera's lens.

Using the redeye reduction flash mode will help some (as the preflashes will help to shrink the pupils). This usually reduces (but does not always eliminate redeye). In better light, it shouldn't be quite as bad. The distance to the camera can also be a factor (usually it's not as bad when you're closer with most models).