Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 1, 2004, 12:38 PM   #1

Hello All!

Iam a dad of two looking to replace my Canon S30 (loved it). I used the movie mode often with our kids as we found them doing something and wanted to get it on video quick, but the quality is horrible. I have an old VHS-C camcorder but don't want to lug it around too...that led me to looking into a new camera. I do 75% pics and 25% video, so I won't buy a camcorder.Here is what I would LOVE to hit on in terms of specs:

1. 4 megapixels or better

2. Better than 3x optical zoom, with the ability to live zoom when recording movies.

3. 640X480 30fps with no limit (or no 30 second limit at least)

4. Good quality pics, I am no pro and have been VERY happy with my pics from my S30.

I love the Canon S1 it hits every wish I have but it is 3.2 megapixels. I have a hard time buying a new camera with the same (roughly) pixel rendering as my current camera...unless you think the 10X optical will make up for it. I usually find myself cropping photos to get closer, and 85% of my photos are printed on 4X6. But I REALLY want to jump up on my megapixel count. Also, would the higher pixel count make up for the lack of zoom.....hmmmm

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you so much.
markyoung04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 1, 2004, 1:59 PM   #2
sdh

well, I think most recent Sony camerasclaim to have640 x 480 @ 30fps, but before buying a Sony for it's movie mode Id check out the thread in the Sony forum where there is strong evidence suggesting that Sony's 640 x 480 is really an interpolated 320 x 240!!
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2004, 2:18 PM   #3
TC3

I have the Kyocera M410R thats meets your needs and it is pretty good but am sure there are others out there too
TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2004, 2:47 PM   #4