Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 5, 2004, 3:23 PM   #1

Hello,

I'm just starting out in the world of digital photography. I'm looking for a good quality amateur camera, with high image quality, reasonable motion stills, and the ability to take a few seconds of movie footage. I'm trying to keep my spending to about $300. The main thing I want to use the camera for is for amateur outdoor wildlife and landscape shots, and for family shots of course, but they are secondary.

The camera I'm leaning towardsd right now is the Fuji Finepix S5500 zoom. I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts/opinions on this camera, or any other cameras within my budget that would perhaps be better.

Cheers,

Adam.
Smileyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 6, 2004, 4:22 AM   #2

So no replies yet. :sad:

Will somebody pleeeeeeaaaaaaaassssssseeee help?
Old Nov 6, 2004, 9:44 AM   #3

Let me brighten you up by replying ... I'm just a newbie but I've been doing a lot of research before I bought my Canon Powershot S1 IS last week... you should consider everyone's opinions...

Smileyguy wrote:
Quote:
reasonable motion stills
What's motion stills? Pics of the video? Do you have a computer? If yes, you can capture still frames and edit the video on a computer.

Quote:
, and the ability to take a few seconds of movie footage.
Are you going to be satisfied with a few SECONDS of footage? I wanted video too but I wanted long video (several minutes) or else I didn't care about video. The way I look at it, several seconds of video is next to useless. I mean, what are you going to show with it? You can't show anything meaningful with a few seconds. If you want video, I recommend looking for one that captures several minutes (the good ones capture until the memory card runs out).