Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 7, 2004, 11:23 PM   #1

I'm trying to decide b/w these three cameras in the next couple of days before my vacation. My Canon s30 broke -- I was pretty happy with it overall.

My Priorities in order of importance:

1. Image Quality
2. megapixels
3. features (manual and auto controls, so I can use it w/o thinking or be able to compose a shot with some nuance)
4. usability
5. zoom
6. size (I'd prefer as small as possible to increase the ease of carrying around)
7. speed

Cost is only a tie-breaker (though the canon will save me extra cash since I have almost 400 MB in CF cards and two extra batteries and a carrying case).

My uses for the camera are (in order of importance):

1. scenery/wildlife/other outdoor shots
2. portraits/family events
3. occasional action shots

Use for both prints and the Web (I'm a Web designer by profession and digital-photo is an increasing hobby of mine).

My impressions of the cameras in question (from reading here and elsewhere on the Net and looking in camera stores) currently are:

The Canon s70 is the safest bet for me: cost, similar to what I'm used to, high image quality, 7 megapixels. If it had a better zoom, I wouldn't be posting this.

I have not seen enough about the quality of the Olympus C-7000, but it looks like a great camera: compact, nice zoom, 7 megapixels.

If I'm willing to go a little bigger, the Panasonic FZ20 looks fabulous. I think the lower pixels is more than offset by the 12x zoom and features. I also like the hotshoe.

I know this was long; maybe it will also help others looking into the same cameras. Thanks for your input.
holdtheline is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2004, 1:13 AM   #2