Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 9, 2004, 7:21 PM   #1

Hi all

I know this is quite general, but I maybe someone can help. I am a poor student in the UK and I have decided that I want to buy myself a digital camera (as I can't use my parent's now. I thought instead of buying a rubbish cheap one I would be better with an older branded one from eBay, so I was just wondering if there is any particular brand / range anyone would suggest for general purposes. I don't think I need anything above 1-2 MP. A decent zoom and reasonable performance in the dark would be nice.

I was thinking that I might be better getting a model which takes standard AA size batteries, so I can use my stock of rechargeables (as the ones with it may be worn out).

There seems to be a good stock of Olympus, which sound good. I can spend about £40 ($70), which seems about the going rate (or maybe more for a very good model). Have a look at www.ebay.co.uk to see our prices.

Thanks a lot,
James
jamesc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2004, 8:41 PM   #2

I'm just a newbie so take it for what it's worth

I really don't think you should buy a cheap low-end camera or an old one. The reason I don't think you should buy an old one is because:

(i) if you like photography, you'll hate the camera and it might turn you off... might as well spend a little bit more and get one that you can play around with...

(ii) 1 to 2 megapixels is too low for general use. It is great for computer/online/web pics, but you can just barely print 4"x6" (this is the standard small size) pics. Sure, you can get away with it but will you be happy? Taking pics without being able to print good quality pics is something that should be avoided. (note: 2MP is arguably enough but I would stay away from anything lower)