Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 10, 2004, 8:05 PM   #1

With FZ20 prices on the rise, there is not much of a price difference between these camera's. Can someone tell me how much better the Canon is?

Thanks

Scott
seastwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 11, 2004, 10:29 AM   #2

I'm just a newbie and I don't know much about DSLRs... having said that...

The Digital Rebel is an SLR while the FZ20 is not. These two are in totally different leagues...

Without knowing much about DSLRs, I will say outright that the Rebel should be MUCH better than the FZ20. It doesn't have any zoom (you need extra lens for that) and it likely requires faster memory cards (not sure), but it should be far better than the FZ20 when it comes to picture quality and range. For example, DSLRs generally have VERY LITTLE noise at high ISO settings. I am guessing the Rebel will be like that too...

BTW, are you sure the FZ20 costs the same as the Digital Rebel? Is that the Rebel body only or with lens? Also, it doesn't make sense to me how digicam prices can go UP? :?: Digicam prices generally drop because the technology improvments are very quick...
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2004, 11:00 AM   #3

I don't think the price is the same: you need to buy at least 2 lenses if you want the same zoom range for the Canon Digital Rebel as for the Panasonic FZ20. The total could be in the range of 1500-2000 euros, depending on which lenses do you buy. I believe Panasonic FF20 cost much less, doesn'it?

DSLR , in general, have 2 main advantages over digicams:

- low noise even at high ISO (400, 800, even 1600)

- they are generally faster

The cons are:

- price

- weight and size (you need to carry the body + lenses)

- perhaps more difficult to learn