Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 12, 2004, 1:02 PM   #1

Help me find a Digital Camera that will take photos as (ALMOST) as easy as my Mavica FD-88. I post my photosin eBay Auctions. I think this is a great site. My FD-88 is just about shot! I have been using it for circa 5 years & it has been a proven perfomer. I looked at the Panasonic FZ3 - greatLeica 12XOptical Zoom but doesn't have the Manual Focus Lens Ring. IMO, the Lens Ring assists me in getting GREAT in-focus, closeupstill shots & QUICKLY!

Any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance. mark
cpaok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2004, 2:24 PM   #2

An EOS 1Ds MKII?
Pekkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2004, 2:37 PM   #3

You could look at Minolta 7HI (7x optical) or an Olympus E-20 (4x optical).

You would be looking at about $350-450 for the Minolta.

$500+ for the E20.

digcamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2004, 2:42 PM   #4

Thanks fellas & keep it coming. I REALLY like the idea of the Panasonic line with the Leica 12X Optical Zoom. My FD-88 is 8X Optical Zoom --- so I would like MORE in the way of Optical Zoom Power, not less. That 7X, though, is intriguing. BTW - I don't need a lot of pixels 3.0 will do me fine. THANKS !

PS ... Am I alone in wanting this additional control over manual focus?
Old Nov 12, 2004, 2:45 PM   #5

I agree that a focus ring ismuch morepleasant to use than the other types of 'manual focus' options out there. Unfortunately, though, focus rings are rare.