Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 16, 2004, 5:28 PM   #1

Hi all- I have been using a Canon A70 for the last 18 months and it really does everything I want EXCEPT longer videos. The A70 can only do 30 seonds at 640x480. I would really like to be able to do at least three minutes (a faster frame rate would also be nice, but I can live with what I have). I have nosed around here and at dpreview and imaging-resources, but so far I am only coming up with superzoom cams. While a 10x zoom would be nice (hey, why not?) I have rarely wantedanything more than the 3x on the A70, and those superzooms seem a lot bulkier/heavierthan my little A70. There mightbe less "grab-it-and-go" with them.

So you can see I'm pretty undemanding of my camera. I just want more video. I have looked at the Canon S1 IS. Advantages (from my perspective): standard AA batteries, I can use my existing CF (although it sounds like I could really use a bigger and faster CF card), and the controls are very similar to the A70. But it's big! Is there anything in the little point-and-shoot category that will fit the bill? TIA.
AlanF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 16, 2004, 6:17 PM   #2
rp3

The camera I like (own, make my avatar and recommend everywhere I go) is the Canon SD200. It has unlimited (except by memory and memory speed) 640x480/30 movies and 1 minute 320x240/60 movies. It's very light but you would be going to SD memory and a propretary battery. It has a 3x zoom (another upgrade compared to the SD100) and weighs less than 5 oz.
rp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2004, 3:39 PM   #3