Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 17, 2004, 5:20 PM   #1

Hi, im quite new to the digital camera sceen and having read alot of reviews to the point of my head feels like its going to explode i have almost decided on the G6 but i was hoping for a little better in the way of video recording, while this is not essential it would be nice..

So i was wondering if there are any other cameras out there i should check out in terms of picture quality and video recording/playback etc bearing in mind that the G6 is right at the limit of my sepending budget.

any advice would be most welcome
Blaupunkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2004, 5:58 PM   #2

I think the key thing is the TYPE of camera you want. In particular, what type of photos are you going to take? Examples of types to me include ultra-zooms (10x+ zoom), ultra-compact, compact, DSLR, normal low-zoom prosumer, etc. Once you have narrowed down the type, you'll be left with only a few cameras.

Based on your potential purchase of the Canon G6, I assume that you are looking for a mid-end prosumer camera (as opposed to mass-market oriented consumer cameras). Since you say that the G6 is close to your upper limit on price, I also assume that you are not going for high-end prosumer (Canon Powershot Pro1) or DSLR.

If I were to recommend a couple of cameras you should check out, they would be the following. First of all, the competitor to the Canon G6 is the Sony V1. I don't know the specs off the top of my head but Sony generally offers the best video features. Another camera that I would strongly recommend is the Panasonic DMC-FZ20. This is an ultra-zoom (12x zoom; 5MP) so it isn't exactly comparable to the Canon G6, which is a low-zoom normal camera. Nevertheless, the FZ20 stands alone as a good camera whether you are looking for an ultra-zoom or not.
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2004, 6:53 PM   #3