Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 20, 2004, 9:10 PM   #1

Im new to digital photography and have been researching cameras. I thought the S7000Z fujifilm was a good camera for a beginner, but just now i was on a tutorial website and reading about star trails.

http://www.danheller.com/star-trails.html

I figured out that i need a camera with long exposure time to do these time of shots, after a quick google search it seems the S7000 only has a 15 second exposure time. So is it not possible to get star trails with the S7000? If its the wrong camera for this type of shot, can someone recomend alternatives that have teh same features as the S7k but a longer exposure time, im guessing upto 3 hours?1?!?

Thank You, and yes im a noob and i want to take up photography as a hobby, because its sexy!
Kubera is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2004, 10:11 PM   #2

Thanks for the link... sorry I can't help you with your camera. I thought only dSLR's could have indefinite exposure (since I don't think any camera is gonna have a programmed 3-hours exposure time) but I might be wrong about it.
José A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2004, 10:20 PM   #3
Administrator

Kubera wrote:
Quote:
If its the wrong camera for this type of shot, can someone recomend alternatives that have teh same features as the S7k but a longer exposure time, im guessing upto 3 hours?1?!?
Well, I hate to burst your bubble. But, you're not going to find a digital camera thatis realisticallycapable of exposures that long. Yes, some models do have longer exposures (and even have a bulb mode, so that the exposure can be as long as desired). But, this will impact quality. I'd forget abouta 3 hour exposure with a digital camera.