Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 23, 2004, 12:17 PM   #1

Hello everyone,

I'm just getting into the digital cameras world, so I want to buy a good camera, but I do have some demands :

- High zoom (at least x10)
- Good video mode, good quality captures, no time limit.
- RAW mode.
- No need for more than 3-4 Megapixels
- Prefferably one that uses a CF card.
- Not large.

and last but not least - Good Quality pictures.

I thought of the Canon S1 IS but it doesn't have RAW support. Is RAW that important?
Any other sugestions (same price as the S1 more or less ...)

Thank you
michaelsko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 24, 2004, 10:03 PM   #2

Oh, and one more question -

Is the lack of the AF Assist function really makes a difference? Does that mean that the camera won't be able to focus well at night/dark?

Anyone got this camera and can tell me that from experience?

Thanks.
Old Nov 25, 2004, 6:58 PM   #3

I'm a newbie like you and I just got my S1 IS this week. Don't have enough experience to say anything concrete but I think your criteria needs to be tweaked...

First of all, I personally, as a newbie, think that image stabilization is very important for ultra-zooms (10x+). I think IS is more important that most of the factors you listed.

Secondly, things like memory card formats are largely pointless. You'll likely be able to get a 1GB (low-speed) memory card for under US$50 within 6 months (actually, I bought a Lexar 40x speed 1GB CF card for $40 (it's US$80 but has $40 manufacturer rebate--hope I get that)).

As far as camera not being large, all ultra-zooms (10x+) are SLR-like size. So they are basically larger than compact (and obviously ultra-compact) but are a bit smaller than DSLR. You are basically out of the compact size arena...