Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 29, 2004, 12:10 AM   #1

I'm a total newbie to the digial camera world.
I'm mainly going to use the camera for holiday snaps - outdoors - nature shots etc and indoors in normal lighting.
I'll like to print the photos as one would for the old style 35 mm film cameras - basically the same size prints. 6x5 i think?

My criteria in order of preference:
1. I'd like 10x optical zoom as a minimum with an Image Stabilizer.
2. As i'd be travelling it'd be nice to have AA batteries if possible though i don't mind the proprietary batteries as long as the charge time is short and i dont have to charge them too often.
3. Flipout/fully articulated LCD.

I understand that the Canon S1 and Panasonic FZ3 are on par with one anther. but i've also read some good reviews of the FZ20.

What are people's thoughts on the three cameras and what would make you lean towards one of them? Or are there other models i should be considering?

Should i wait for the next Canon S2 which may have more pixels? or is 3.2 Megs enough for my needs?

Thanks for your valued input.

Trevor
epatlv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2004, 1:04 AM   #2

Well, this ought to be easy....

AFAIK, there is only one camera that meets your specifications - the Canon S1 IS.

3.2mp's should be fine for 4x6 prints.

Phil
PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2004, 2:09 PM   #3

I was in the same quandary. People say that S1IS has horrible indoor performance. I am reluctant to test it as for that i will have to buy the camera. I have finalized FZ10 as FZ20 has noisier pictures.
wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2004, 2:22 PM   #4
PvB

Do you really need the tilt and swivel LCD? Or do you just want it coz it's a nice (it is) feature?

I don't know what your budget is, but if you think it worthwhile you might want an additional low-zoom camera with AF assist for the indoor shots.