Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 30, 2004, 12:58 PM   #1

Im looking at the Sony DSC F717 and am really liking it. if I can get one for around $400 or so (under $500.00) is it worth my time to use it? I'm not a pro... yet but will someday be (i hope) and am looking for a good cam that i can use to start out wth.

Also, the Nikon (i think its the 5700?) looks good but to be honest, i like the look of the sony better... does/has anyone here own/use the F717 if so, is it really that good? also, can you screw different lenses on it? telephoto,fish eye and the like?

Thanks all!

-zacker-

ps. I will be shooting mostly out door, Nature shots... Animals and land scape.
zacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2004, 2:03 PM   #2

The people with strong brand loyalty will not be happy with this but it probably doesn't matter which brand you want (provided it doesn't come on a keychain and was bought on the Home Shopping Network) because they will all give commendable results for general picture taking.

Now, when you have specific jobs that you wantto do (like nature and wildlife photography), then there are still some recommended features that you will want (regardless of brand):

1) Animals are difficult to get close to so a long OPTICAL zoom is important. (DIgitial zoom isn't a replacement for optical zoom.) The equivalent of 500mm would be great!!

2) You will probably be using a tripod for serious nature photography but you might want to give a plus to a camera that has some kind of image stabilization if you want to handhold while zoomed out.

3) You probably aren't going to worry aboutthe flash either.