Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 7, 2004, 6:16 PM   #1

Looking for a great point and shoot camera with a good zoom. I like the price of the Kodak DX7440 but then you have the docking station that adds almost another 100.00 onto it. What are some other great cameras what take real good pics for 300.00 or under? I am in real estate and will be doing virtual tours with homes, I guess I can splurge and go up to 400.00 if the camera will make a difference but 300 is really where I would like to stay at. Thanks for your help.
Valkyrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 7, 2004, 6:33 PM   #2

Too bad you cant go another 700. Nikon D-70, the dealer said when I purchased it, a Rolls Royce at the price of a Motorcycle. Ive been shooting for 20 years. Ive had large formats, medium formats, 35mms, and a couple digitals. I spent$1200 for the Olympus E-10 when it first came out. That camera practically does nothing compared to the Nikon D-70 at the same price now,that does everything, and is for everything. And is about as complicated to use as an oldfashion can-opener.One heck of an investment:!:
bern888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2004, 7:17 PM   #3

Well, that does not help me.
Old Dec 7, 2004, 7:33 PM   #4

Valkyrie wrote:
Quote:
Looking for a great point and shoot camera with a good zoom.

How much zoom? One can get a nice 3x optical zoom p&s for under $150, but 12x zoom will cost a lot more. One does not need to spend near $300 to get "real good pics". Perhaps you could be a bit more specific as to budget, zoom, desired battery or memory type (if any) and expected size of prints (or if you do not plan on making prints).

PhilR.
PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2004, 7:44 PM   #5
Administrator

This topic was discussed a while back (best camera for photographing homes).