Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 17, 2004, 9:02 AM   #1

hi, i am nineteen years old, i am a college student and i work as a sports photographer for a local newspaper, i usually cover area high school games. I am (and havebeen for months) in search for a new camera,a dslr easier said than done, right? I feburary of this coming year, i have the opertunity of going into partnership in opening a small portriat and sports studio, people pay big bucks to have pictures of their kids playing sports.

I have and olympus c-740 which is great, with its 10xzoom for daytime picturesat a baseball game, but when i hit the lights on friday night, its not so hot. Although it worked with aslave flash, i lookedrediculus with a flash almost as big as my camera!! :?

I shot a fuji s pro for football and volleyball this year, but anydslr would be an inprovemnet for those situations.Anyway the skin toneswith the Spro wereamazing, right on, even with African-American skin tones, which i know can be hard to match sometimes. That camera is a little pricey for me, plus there were several featuresthat i didnt like about it. When reviewing the photos after you took them, you couldn't zoom up on them on the LCD screen (to see if they were completely focused)and that it wasdifficult when i and on the feild and i know that i need at least10excellent pictures. I found myself going to the next game, thinking that i had good pictures and some were out of focus.

I noticed that in the store,the canon20d and nikon d70 would focus alot faster than the fuji that i was shooting.I have been researching both of these cameras on this sight and on others for over two months andin the long run all i seem to get is the nikon people telling me to go with the nikon because it is a NIKON and the canon people telling meto go with the canon because it is a CANON, i just don't know what todo.