Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 18, 2004, 8:50 AM   #1

Hi, i'm a newbie to digital cameras and photography.

Here are my choices:

Nikon 3100- good all around camera

Main pro: small size

Price: $180

Panasonic FZ3:

Main pros: 12X zoom, high quality lenses

Main cons: no video in 640 x 480

Can you attach other lenses to this camera

Price $306

Canon S1

Main pros: 10X zoom, excellent video capability, zoom during video shooting

Main cons: none (except price)

Price $350

I can understand that the two more expensive camera probably have higher image quality. But how much higher is the image quality? How would you tend to rate the 3 cameras on a 1-10 scale?

Is it the difference between a crappy 19 inch tv and a $1000 35 inch tv with all the options? If you took modelling or fashionphotographs or landscape photos with the cameras, how would they be different.

This is of course excepting the zoom function, although that is of course qute useful.

every time i see suggestions for a camera, the panasonic fz3 comes up. Why? Is the image quality a 8.7 compared to a 7.0 for the Nikon?

Thank you very much for your help!!
echo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 18, 2004, 10:39 AM   #2

echo99 wrote:
Quote:
Canon S1

Main pros: 10X zoom, excellent video capability, zoom during video shooting

Main cons: none (except price)

Price $350
S1's cons would be poor pics in low-light (especially since it doesn't have an AF-assist lamp) and slow focusing/focusing problems...

Quote:
I can understand that the two more expensive camera probably have higher image quality. But how much higher is the image quality? How would you tend to rate the 3 cameras on a 1-10 scale?