Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 19, 2004, 9:16 PM   #1

Hi to all...

I'm desperate to get some advice before I head out to buy a new digicam today. I was using the Nikon Coolpix 880 (it fell off the bench at a rate of knots) and was reasonably happy with it except had problems with depth of field - I like my pics to have blurry backgrounds and could only seem to achieve this with Adobe..

I probably would have gone for the Nikon 4200 as a replacement but found out it doesn't have manual settings like my old 880 did so today I've been looking at the Canon A95 which does have manual settings. I'm still learning about photography but would ultimately love to take great pics of my children (not action but more like the image I've posted below - taken with a Fujifilm Finepix 3800). I would love some advice as to what camera I should get - do I stick to a compact (maybe the Canon) or go for a DSLR which I know I would find a bit overwhelming right now but in time I hope to get a good grasp of? What gives the blurry background - is it using a manual setting or is it more the lens? (Sorry if I seem so ignorant..)

Thanks in advance...

Sheye

[align=left]

[/align]
Attached Images

confuzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2004, 11:11 PM   #2