Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 26, 2004, 6:32 PM   #1

I bought a nikon 4800 and I dont know if i am happy or not with it. I was thinking i could get a slr like camera for say 400 but I cant. I have an extra 50 dollar gift card from best buy so i could buy a camera from them for say 450 but i am not buying a camera for 450 unless its really worth it.

I take pics of my house, family, i have a newborn coming in april. I have had my first digicam so i am not a newbie. Help a novice... it would be greatly appreciated.

Let me add that it has to take SD as i already purchased an sd card from CompUSSR and i dont want to pay a restocking fee....

Adam aka Tbirdkid

tbirdkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2004, 7:04 PM   #2

What's wrong with the camera you have now? The camera you have now is perfectly capable of taking pics of your house, family, and newborn. If you aren't willing to state what it is that you don't like about it, then we can't suggest something that will satisfy your (unknown) needs.

PhilR.
PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2004, 11:37 PM   #3

"I was thinking i could get a slr like camera for say 400 but I cant."

Sure, you can. In fact, you can get an excellent one with a 12x Leica lens and image stabilization. It's called the Panasonic FZ10, uses SD cards, and goes for around $400 on eBay.
lucky2505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2004, 10:08 AM   #4

lucky2505 wrote:
Quote:
"I was thinking i could get a slr like camera for say 400 but I cant."

Sure, you can. In fact, you can get an excellent one with a 12x Leica lens and image stabilization. It's called the Panasonic FZ10, uses SD cards, and goes for around $400 on eBay.
I really wouldn't say that is "SLR-like". I think the only ones that are close to SLR-like are the high-end prosumers (eg. Olympus 8080, Canon Pro1, Sony F828, etc)...
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote