Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 1, 2005, 7:30 PM   #1

I have read reviews here at steve's digicams,dpreview, dcresource, imaging-resource, morman koren, luminous landscape, outbackphoto, bobatkins.com, and now find myself overwhelmed with info and confused. I am a novice amateur with little knowledge of photography and have been using a Kodak DC4800 for several years. I enjoy using auto p&s modes and know I will have to read and learn a lot about photography while learning the features/applications using a digital slr.

I love just shooting pictures at family events(30% of use), shooting nature(20% of use), and taking shots at my granddaughters dance recitals and my grandson playing baseball and basketball(50% of use).

I recently took my old Olympus OM10 to the homecourt gym with the Zuiko 50mm 1.8 lens mounted, set the ISO @ 1600, aperture @ 1.8, and read the internal meter shutter speed of 1/250 - will not use flash for recitals or basketball. I would like to take stop action shots(correct me if I'm wrong), but I believe I have to get the shutter speed up to 1/500 to do that. If I buy a new digital slr and use a 50 or 85 mm 1.8 prime, I will have to shoot at ISO3200 in this low light, right?

So, I believe my choices are the 300D with hack, 10D, or 20D any of them set at ISO3200. I want good quality stop action up to 8x10 for just me and my family's enjoyment. Will the 300D or 10D give me that or will I need the lower noise of the 20D to get good quality at ISO3200?

Also, are their features on the 10D or 20D that I would need for good quality low light basketball shots?

I'd really like to spend less (300D or 10D) , but will get a part time job to afford the 20D if I really need it for this type of shooting.

Forgive me for the long post, I just wanted to provide enough detail so I could get informed/experienced advice. Your experience and thoughts, please?
dspringer is offline   Reply With Quote