Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 3, 2005, 1:47 PM   #1

Wanting to purchase a digital camera (I'm a newbie). 4-5 megapixel - $300-400. Think I have it narrowed down to these two - Canon A95 (like the rotating LCD) and Sony DSC-W1 (nice, large LCD). Will be taking photos of family members, inside and outside, my daughter's sporting events, vacations, .... Pretty basic stuff. Mostly will need 4x6 but occassionally will need 5x7 or 8x10. Have a camcorder so no real need for movie capability. As far as manual options - have a camera now with lots of manual options but I rarely use them. However my children are getting older now so maybe I will have time to learn how to use the manual options.

Want the camera with the best quality photos I can get. Would like to keep the cost for everything (case, extra memory cards, etc.) at about $400.

Thanks in advance for your help. It is much appreciated.
normant is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2005, 2:19 PM   #2

Considering that you don't want to sink too deeply into the bog that is manual modes, I'd advise going with the W1. It is a really responsive little camera which takes great quality shots. It gives quite a bang for the buck.

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2004_reviews/w1.html

Good luck with your search! ~Jack
Jack B. Nimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2005, 3:26 PM   #3

The W1 is less expensive, but it's deceptive because of the MS media is SOO much more expense than CF.
f2benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2005, 4:25 PM   #4