Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 6, 2005, 5:15 AM   #1

hi there,

newbie here - and hoping for a little advice to guide me in the purchase of a new digital camera. I currently have a fujifilm a310, but want to upgrade.

I've narrowed my choices to the following:

Fujifilm S5500/5100 - 4mp, 10x zoom

Panasonic Lumix dmc-fz3 - 3mp, 12x zoom with anti-shake.

(Ifthe Panasonic Lumix dmc-fz15 was available outside of the USI think I would get this - its a 4mp with 12x zoom and anti-shake and got very good reviews)

so my question is - how much of a difference in quality is there between a 3mp camera and a 4mp one?

(Or should I just wait and see if the fz15 becomes available in Europe?)

any advice or comments appreciated,

thanks
digicamak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2005, 7:18 AM   #2

IMHO, if you're going to use the higher zoom capability you NEED image stabilization. Panasonic has a good system for this and they have a good Leica lens. I don't think the name Leica would be associated with the Panasonic if it weren't a good camera. I own an FZ-10 and love it !
Charlie46227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2005, 8:09 AM   #3

digicamak wrote:
Quote:
so my question is - how much of a difference in quality is there between a 3mp camera and a 4mp one?
Quality is more a function of the camera mechanicals (lens, sensor, etc.) and less a function of the number of megapixels. The number of mp's just determines the size of the file, and thus the size of the pictures you can make.

I wouldn't let the number of mp's determine the choice. If you can't do it with 3.2mp, then most likely you won't be able to do it with 4, either....

PhilR.

PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2005, 8:22 AM   #4