Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 6, 2005, 11:41 AM   #1

I have been doing research on the best camera for my wife and I to buy and take on our trip to New Zealand in May. After a couple of weeks and reading countless reviews and discussion posts, I have narrowed my choice to the Panasonic FZ series.

The FZ3 is perfect for size and it is cheaper, although money is not the most important part of this decision.

The FZ20 is larger but with better image quality.

The last important question for me to answer (with your help) is if I were to hold up two 8X10 landscape photos taken with each camera under the exact same conditions; would I be able to quickly tell the difference without a magnifying glass? Keeping in mind that I am a novice.

If the answer is "yes" then I will buy the FZ20.

Thank you in advance for your answer.

Jim

greyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2005, 11:57 AM   #2

I don't have either camera but my opinion is...

I would say that average people wouldn't be able to tell the difference. HOWEVER do note that 3 megapixels won't give you much cropping room.

In any case, if you were to go for the FZ20, one should really go for it because of the bigger LCD, hot-shoe flash, and stuff like that, more so than the megapixels (FZ20 is rumoured to have more noise than FZ3 because of its higher megapixels so the MP isn't THAT big of a feature)...

Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2005, 12:16 PM   #3