Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 14, 2005, 11:39 PM   #1

Hello,

I'm college student trying to find the right camera (and probably asking to much).

I am trying to find a camera:

1. I can carry around (not necessarily in a pocket but not in it's own backpack either)hiking, tourist traveler and so on

2. with good zoom (that's why I looked at the super zoom cameras)

3. good picture quality ( I loved Canon A95 and I used to compare all the othercameras pictures quality with the A95 but I do realize that I can't get everything)

4. video capabilities more like a bonus than a must

I'm really a beginner with photography but I like to think that I will start playing with the manual settings. After a whileof online study time I can say that Iwas impressed with the Konica Minolta Dimage Z2 andPanasonic DMC-FZ20.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
domino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2005, 11:53 PM   #2

The FZ20 is light for its size, but it is quite bulky. Make sure you handle one in a store before considering it. It is an excellent camera, just big. If 3Mp would suit you the FZ3 is stabilized, has a great 12X stabilized Leica lens and is much smaller than the FZ20. All of the FZs are f2.8 all the way to 12X, which is a big advantage over most other super zooms except the Canon S1.

Consider the Z3 over the Z2. Stabilization is a good feature on a long zoom lens.

If you don't think you need stabilization the Olympus C-765 is the most compact super zoom available.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 12:06 AM   #3

I followed the Best Zoom Cameras (Z3 is not there)

but I did look at the Z3and it seemed that the pictures had indeed some purple fringes which I could detect (the enlarged picture) and to quote steve's review:

"Outdoors it produced nicely saturated images, although some were a bit over-exposed when there were instances of extreme sunlight."