Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 24, 2005, 7:11 AM   #1

Hi , im a newbie and i need ur opinion on this.
I want to buy a camera to take pics form family , holidays , and some developing projects. Most of pics will not be printed so i dont know how much megapixels i need.
I saw a Sony dsc w1 and a Nikon coolpix 5200, and i dont know which is better.
If u recoomend other camera plz tell me.
Thanks.
Biotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2005, 9:10 AM   #2

What is some developing projects ? If were to print, how big would u print ? Do you realize that most digital cameras will offer you some not so great results with flash turned on ? Were you using disposable cameras before for those purpose ? Do you have kids to photograph(moving fast) ?

Is size important for you ? What is your budget ? Do you plan to use manual controls or to always leave the camera in auto(or programed) mode ?

With what you've said, I am think that u need a 3megapixels camera(can be more if what u need has more). I personally have a little something for the A75(or the upcoming A510), but it has lots of manual controls... you can also set it to auto or program mode. Besides that, I'm not sure, maybe I'd give u a look at the Casio, since they have many scene modes(that is if you do not plan to use manual controls).

The W1 is also a good camera, Sony cameras have a good focusing system for low light situations. As for the Nikon 5200, I'm not sure, I haven't really looked at it.
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2005, 9:30 AM   #3

The picture size is the normal 11*15 i suppose.
Im not a pro so manual stuff is not that important for me.
I just wand a average cam.
Projects = helping may father restauring a car( mini 1275 gt @ 1380 cc), so need to take lots of photos to have a complete historial about all things done to it.