Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 26, 2005, 3:25 PM   #1

OK, first let me start by thanking Steve for this incredible site. Ive been using it for at least a year now.

I am looking to buy a new camera to replace my two camera's. A Sony DSC-P72 and a 35MM SLR Pentax. Im tired of needing 2 camera's.

The P72 for some reason now takes 9 out of 10 blury shots. And, between shots, it takes like 8 seconds to be able to take another shot, which is horrible if you have a kid and want to catch the action. My 35 MM is just that, was a gift 2 years ago, Im not a pro, but its a nice camera.

What do I want? I want a camera that does pictures and video. I want a really nice zoom ability, but most I want it to not stall for so long between shots. Id like it to be somewhat compact, but not small by any means. I dont need some high value MP as I dont print my pictures at home. So, as long as its 4MP or higher that is fine.

Id like it to be less then $1,000. Decent battery life that is rechargable. Im looking at the Coolpix 8800, but get the feeling that its too much camera for simple me?

Thanks in advance to anyone who sends advice. I really want this next camera to be something I dont replace for 2 years or more.

Thanks!
scottk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 26, 2005, 4:56 PM   #2
KSV

If you really about a quality pix, then my advise would be go to DSLR (you mention that size is not bother you much) Pentax *istDS is reasonably small and you can reutilize your lenses from your film camera, plus you can easy find one under $1000. Nikon D70 incredibly quick, but more expensive and little bulkier. Sorry, there is no video in DSLR, but videofrom digital still cameras is (IMHO) c**p anyway and I would not even bother myself about this option
KSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2005, 5:12 PM   #3