Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2005, 8:21 PM   #1

Hi, I'm new to this forum, though I've lurked it quite a bit. Lots of experts here and I've certainly learned a lot. Thanks to all.

My question to the gurus, which would you prefer between an Olympus C-5050 vs Canon A-95 (or something similar)? The Olympus is a couple years old but costed close to $800 when it came out vs $300 for the A95 today. Do they even compare?

I'm a budding amateur photographer soappreciate the manual controls both have. The A95 of course is much more portable (which is nice, but not too important to me). My main interest, is great picture quality (primarily portraits, family events, artistic, etc)--so are the smaller new cameras, equipped with the latest technologies comparable to higher-end models that are 2-3 years old? If not, I'd ratherpick one up used but just don't know. Which would you rather have

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance
aspir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2005, 8:46 PM   #2

I'm going to say something heretical on this digital site.

The best cameras I have ever used are my Contax film cameras. Compared to the 'camera experience' of using them, my Sony V3 is really primitive.

I have more pure 'fun' using a 1953 Zeiss Ikon Ikoflex IIc TLR 6x6 that has no auto focus, no exposure meter at all but also has no batteries.