Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 12, 2005, 2:31 PM   #1

Hi - Newbie here :-)

For my first digital, I'm needing something for sports pics (cricket especially).

I have never used digital and have little knowledge.

Price is important - I cannot go for higher spec models.

I want to publish shots onto a club website. Not looking for professional finish, but wanting enough detail for members to recognise players in photos.

Anyone with any knowledge/advice on my 3 selections:-

Kyocera Finecam M410R

Konica Minolta Dimage Z3

Panasonic Lumix FZ3

Cheers, Steve
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2005, 3:01 PM   #2

Taking action pics, especially in low-light, is tough. But I'm guessing that your games will be in bright light so it shouldn't be that bad. Anyway...

Posting pics on the web doesn't require high resolution so you'll be ok with any modern camera. Resolution only starts to play a role when you want to print large pics (eg. if you want to print poster size pics, then you need high resolution). The ones you listed are 3 megapixels and that's good enough for average 8"x10" prints.

The Panasonic FZ3 is the best of those IMO. It has a brighter lens (F2.8 throughout zoom), image stabilization, and above average picture quality. The main downside to it is its inferior video (no 640x480). If you don't care about video then the FZ3 is best... If you want larger LCD, flash hot-shoe (allows you to add external flash), more megapixels (5MP), etc then you may want to get the higher end Panasonic FZ20 (but 3 MP should be ok for your purposes; I bought a 3MP ultra-zoom).

(On a side note, Panasonic announced some newer models (FZ4 and FZ5 if I remember) so you may want to wait a bit if you can)
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2005, 3:13 PM   #3

Hi Steve,

You posted here then, another Steve from Notts, yep I used to live there too!!!